Governors play an important role in the life of the school. They take a long-term strategic view of the way in which the school is developing. Their main function is to ensure that the school improves so that the highest standards possible are achieved in all aspects of school life.

The governing committee makes decisions about standards, policies, funding and recruitment of senior staff. The Headteacher and the staff are responsible for the day-to-day running of the school. Governors work with the Leadership Team to implement the School Development Plan. It is the responsibility of the governors to challenge and support the school to achieve the best for students.

Governors' duties include:

  • Promoting high standards
  • Setting targets for student achievement
  • Taking general responsibility for the conduct of the school
  • Managing the school's budget
  • Making sure that the curriculum is balanced and broadly based, in particular, that the National Curriculum, religious education and relationships and sex education are taught, and reporting on students' achievement in National Curriculum assessments and examination results
  • Participating in the appointment of senior staff and regulating staff conduct and discipline.

The Governing Committee is made up of a Chair, a Vice-Chair and a further mix of Co-opted and Parent Governors. They are:

Name Role
Mrs Hayley Mintern Acting Chair
Mrs Emma Gilmore Governor
Mrs Juliet Hartridge Associate Governor
Mr Greg Joll Parent Governor
Mrs Bobbie Mahendru Parent Governor
Ms Rupy Sangha Governor
Mrs Assal Ruse Headteacher


Governing Committee Meeting Dates:
Wednesday 16th November 2022
Wednesday 11th January 2023
Wednesday 1st March 2023
Wednesday 26th April 2023
Wednesday 14th June 2023


To make contact with the Chair of Governors or any other governor, please email Neil Gallacher, Governance Professional at or write to the Chair of the Governors care of the school.


Available Documents

Governor Responsibilities / Local Governing Committee 2022-2023

BET Governance & Scheme of Delegation - including register of interest and meeting attendance

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now