• TMAS-161

The Local Governing Body

The key roles of the Local Governing Body are:

  1. To ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  2. To hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  3. To oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent.

The Governors meets termly as a full body. In addition, there are three subcommittees, which also meet termly:

  1. The Learning & Progress Committee
  2. The Staffing & Students Committee
  3. The Finance & Premises Committee

The Governing Body is made up of a Chair, a Vice-Chair, Parent Governors, Community Governors, Co-opted Governors and Staff Governors.  They are:

  • Mrs Anne Field - Chair
  • Dr Penelope Smith - Vice-Chair
  • Dr Carolyn Cobbold - Co-opted Governor
  • Mrs Sue Copperwheat - Support Staff Governor
  • Mrs Emma Gilmore - Co-opted Governor
  • Mrs Karen Mwaamba - Parent Governor
  • Mr Neil Rendall - Co-opted Governor
  • Mr Gavin Rowlands - Teaching Staff Governor
  • Mr Graham Scrowther - Parent Governor
  • Mrs Christine Walls - Co-opted Governor
  • Mrs Mary Gould - Ex Officio Headteacher

To make contact with any of the governors, please email governor@matthew-arnold.surrey.sch.uk or write to the Chair of the Governors care of the School.