Bourne Education Trust

Bourne-Education-TrustThe Bourne Education Trust is a Surrey-based multi-academy trust made up of three senior schools and five primaries: Epsom and Ewell High School, Jubilee High School, The Matthew Arnold School, Brookwood Primary School, Pyrcroft Grange Primary School, Sayes Court Primary School and Sythwood Primary School. The newest school in the trust will be Chertsey High School, a free school that the trust is opening in September 2017.

The trust specialises in supporting schools to improve their performance and draws on the experience of all schools in the trust. The trust’s main areas of expertise are as follows:

  • Increasing leadership capacity and rebuilding confidence
  • Setting the strategic priorities for the school and creating an aspirational culture
  • Supporting the current leadership team in implementing change and holding staff to account
  • Refining the school’s data tracking systems so that intervention is targeted, appropriate and makes a difference
  • Improving the quality of teaching through school-to-school support, paired observations, bespoke training and the use of outstanding practitioners
  • Increasing the skills of teaching assistants so that in-class provision and small group work supports progress
  • Improving the dialogue between teachers and teaching assistants
  • Challenging underperformance
  • Ensuring that no child slips through the net

The trust is led by Alex Russell from Epsom and Ewell High School and he is supported by Steve Price, Headteacher of Jubilee High School, Mary Gould, Head of School of The Matthew Arnold School, Jo Green, Headteacher of Brookwood School, Sue Nardoni, Headteacher of Pyrcroft Primary School, Rochelle Richmond, Acting Headteacher of  Sayes Court School and Sue Tresilian, Headteacher of Sythwood School.  

Overseeing the work of the trust is its strategic board. This is made up as follows:

  • Sara Lipscombe Chair (Group Communications Director, Atkins)
  • Chris Munro Academy sponsor governor representative (Epsom and Ewell High School)
  • Tony Oakden Secondary governor representative
  • Alex Russell Executive headteacher (Headteacher, EEHS)
  • Sue Tresilian Headteacher, Sythwood School
  • John Winter Headteacher, Weydon School

The board meets termly and all schools in the trust are held to account for their performance against pre-agreed key performance indicators. The philosophies that underpin the trust are those based on partnership and collaboration. We want to ensure that all children receive a first class education and that the professionals working in our schools are well equipped to deliver this. We believe that the best way to achieve this is by working together in an open and honest culture, where no stone is left unturned in our quest to deliver an outstanding provision to the children across the trust.

Alex Russell
Executive headteacher